Growing Accustomed: Teaching in Korea

Korea is growing on me. My class is increasingly adorable with each coming day and my co-teacher is funny and easy to get along with. We already have a great relationship that I never got to experience with my Thai co-teachers, so that is a really amazing thing to have. I can’t wait to get my first pay check and experience some of the fun and cheap clothing shops that line the streets here in Seoul. It’s so nice having things here that I didn’t have in Thailand. Air conditioning in the class rooms. An endless supply of fun crafts and activities to do with the kids. Being able to wear pants. (I had to wear skirts every day while teaching in Chiang Mai. Try doing that while riding a motorbike.)

Sun Class
Sun Class

IMG_1515

Unfortunately, I haven’t really had the chance to do much besides work and go to yoga class. Yoga class is also always the same. Every time. The same 3 songs. (Creed’s ‘Arms Wide Open‘ being the most notable.) The same flow routine. Where we simultaneously stretch our arms wide open in cue with the lyrics. It’s fun in a surreal sort of way.

And now- North Korea is threatening action on South Korea if they don’t stop playing propaganda on their speakers directed at the citizens of North Korea. I am sort of curious why these things always seem to happen in the country I choose to live in. Last year Thailand had a military coup at about the same time I settled down in Chiang Mai. Here’s to hoping that this has about as much of an impact on my expat life here in Seoul as the coup did in Thailand.

IMG_2663
Military coup in Chiang Mai
9 thoughts

  1. Oh God, your Creed reference is bringing back flashbacks– in 2012 the only coffee shop near me in Beijing only played one album on loop all day every day! Now every time I hear it I want to rip my ears off.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

