Why All Women Should Travel Solo (At Least Once!)

tumblr_npfmntBCTU1qepkq8o1_540

Traveling with friends or your partner can be great. You learn more about each other and have someone to rely on if you are ever sick or feeling lonely. However, traveling with someone from home can also be extremely challenging in a way solo travel never is.

Instead of doing what you want to do and seeing things you want to see, you make compromises. Maybe you want to sleep in and they want to get up early and watch the sunrise. Maybe you want to wander around the city and they want to take a tour. You get the picture. Solo travel allows you a rare opportunity to be selfish- to do what you want exactly when you want to do it.

I find that while I love traveling with friends, family, and my boyfriend, I also really enjoy solo travel. I find myself longing for that magnificent feeling of being alone in a foreign city, wandering down the crowded streets and feeling absolutely free. That’s not to say travel with your significant other is worthless or doomed from the start. Traveling with someone can be a great experience, and can be a fantastic way to grow and expand your relationship. However, I believe that all women should give solo travel a shot at least once.

Why All Women Should Travel Solo

When I first started telling people I was planning a trip to Southeast Asia, their first questions were “Who with?” When I told them I was going alone the reactions was always “That’s not safe” or “That sounds lonely.” Some of these comments can certainly be discouraging.

I find myself relating to the the Sylvia Plath quote “Yes, my consuming desire is to mingle with road crews, sailors and soldiers, barroom regulars—to be a part of a scene, anonymous, listening, recording—all this is spoiled by the fact that I am a girl, a female always supposedly in danger of assault and battery. My consuming interest in men and their lives is often misconstrued as a desire to seduce them, or as an invitation to intimacy. Yes, God, I want to talk to everybody as deeply as I can. I want to be able to sleep in an open field, to travel west, to walk freely at night…” 

My desire to travel, live, and truly experience things can be limited by the fact that I am a woman it is statistically more dangerous to just be a woman in this world.

It can be daunting and scary. However, with the right safety measures, traveling solo can be one of the most rewarding experiences you will ever have.

You Will Become Fearless

There is nothing scarier then packing up your bag, saying goodbye to your family and friends, and leaving on a plane, watching comfort, familiarity, and security slowly get farther away as your plane ascends into the sky. Solo travel forces you to confront your fears head on.

You’ll Meet Someone Who Changes You

In your solo travels, you are bound to meet a significant other or friend that changes your entire perspective on love and life. You may stay with this person for a day or the duration of your travels, but that in no way diminishes the effect they will have on you. I have felt more connected to people I have spent the day with then people I have spent months with back home. Something about traveling- the endless bus rides, the newness, the excitement, allows people to share parts of themselves that maybe they wouldn’t at home. Share these parts of yourself. Don’t be afraid.

You’ll Question Everything

Traveling inevitably leads you to question the world around your place in it. I have questioned my own privilege and questioned the materialism and consumerism that is so prevalent in the United States. You will question things that you thought were certain and replace your old truths with new beliefs that are founded on experience rather than the distorted perception the media gives of the world.

You’ll Appreciate The Comfort Of Home

In your travels, there will be points when you are homesick as hell. Embrace these moments. Use the miserable moments- the times when you are sick and puking in dirty bathrooms, the times when you just want to call your friends, the times when you are tired and lonely and over it. Use these moments to realize how lucky you really are and how much your friends and family truly mean to you.

You’ll Realize Just How Capable You Are

On that same token, you will realize that you will survive the sucky situations. You will find discover that you are far more capable than you thought that you could possibly be. Getting around in a foreign city, not knowing anyone, and not just surviving, but thriving, is a skill, and you will be able to say that you have done it.

Traveling solo can be rough. Traveling in general is messy. It’s not glamorous, it’s not the front of a post card. But, as with most difficult things in life, it’s worth it.

How has traveling solo changed you? Do you prefer traveling solo or with friends or your partner?

19 thoughts

  1. Thank you for this blog post.

    I’m not a female, but I am someone who is a spokesperson for travelling (Or a ranter of stories with the moral of “Get the hell out and see the dammed world!”). When I hear a female say something like she can’t travel alone, that the world is too dangerous and scary, it irks something in me.

    Maybe this is the wrong way to understand this, but perhaps one of the reasons why women need protection is because they’re taught to believe they are. I’ve met hundreds of females traveling alone, and many of them had hard times (As all travelers do.) and had amazing times. I’m a male who has been in quite a few situations where I’ve been scared for my life while traveling, or narrowly avoided being bash and robbed in a foreign city. But, I’m not taught from birth that I need protection from someone else but I can protect myself.

    If I had a daughter, I wonder what I’d want her to be like (It’s helpful for writing female characters.), and I’d want her to be strong enough to know that while the world can be scary, it’s not worth avoiding, that there aren’t evil men everywhere, watching her, waiting to do bad things to her.

    If males and females are equal, then a woman is just as capable of taking care of herself.

    Again, thank you for this blog post.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The comments by butterflysfool and Thoughts by PC couldn’t be more accurate. As a mom of teens who loves to travel, I only hope that my teens will carry on the tradition of travelling alone and with their own families some day. To not see the world is so sad, at least in my eyes and to say you can’t do it because of fear, is even sadder.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I enjoyed reading your post… as I enjoy travel solo! 🙂 I did both, and most of the time, I decided to leave my travel buddies behind…! Am I a bad person for it? Maybe. Anyway, I met my partner on the road and now I am travelling with him. If I haven’t travel solo, I would not have met him. 😉

    abrokenbackpack.com

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Really great post and I agree. I’ve travelled alone and with my partner, both have been fantastic in different ways but after travelling on my own for three months you realise how strong and capable you are. I would recommend everyone to travel solo at some point 🙂

    Like

  5. Great post! I love travelling solo, it clears my head and gives me the kind of adrenalin and sense of adventure that nothing else can. Plus, I met my fiancée when we were both travelling solo… The only problem is now I always have a tag along!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Right on, great post! I couldn’t agree more, having traveled solo myself way back when I was your age. Take care and be careful out there, a solo traveler needs instinct, street smarts and sometimes a bit of luck.

    Like

  7. There’s no better feeling than knowing you can travel alone and that you’ve survived a trip once it’s done. I’ve done some solo traveling and now I’m traveling with a friend and I’m happy to have the company and someone to share the costs with, but there are so many times as well where I know I could have done something differently if I was alone. But during my solo times, I learned so much about myself. While the anxiety is high at first, it’s so wonderful to see what you are capable of alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Very well put! Had my first solo travelling experience last year in Indonesia and it was the best thing I’ve ever done…so nice to make bonds at times and just enjoy your own company other times! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Beautiful and truthful article. I couldn’t help but mentally agree to everything you mentioned. This resonnated with me so much.
    I did become fearless
    I did meet someone who changed me (and still changes me today!)
    I did (and still) question everything
    and I did realize my worth and how capable I was.
    So thank you for liking my guest post about being a gringa (http://wp.me/p5OgJW-q7) and thank you for sharing this. It made my day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

